IWBF Americas Cup Qualifier Begins

IWBF Americas Cup Qualifier Begins
Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on StumbleUpon0Share on Tumblr0Share on Google+0

IWBF Americas Cup Wheelchair Basketball

August 5-11, 2013 in Bogotá, Columbia
Wheelchair Basketball Columbia

Image by IWBF

Competition started Sunday, August 4th in Bogotá, Colombia at the Americas Cup for men. Nine teams will play over the next 10 days hoping to win one of the 4 spots available for the 2014 World Championship in Incheon, Korea. Team USA Wheelchair Basketball is off to a great start, winning against Venezuela wheelchair basketball in Game 1 by a score of USA 90-18 VEN.

Click here to see full scores and results

There are nine teams competing in this year’s event:

Group A: USA, Brazil, Mexico, Venezuela

Group B: Argentina, Columbia, Canada, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico

Recap from Saturday August 5th:

Game 1 saw Colombia win the opener defeating Nicaragua 85 – 27 in front of a very enthusiastic crowd.
In game two Canada played Argentina.  A surprising and exciting finish saw Argentina over Canada winning 63-58.
Team USA Wheelchair Basketball (c) 2012 Felix Chen

Photo by Felix Chen

Today’s Schedule – August 6, 2013

Canada vs Nicaragua @ 11:30am EST

Final Score: CAN 61 – NIC 25

Mexico vs Venezuela @ 1:45pm EST

Final Score: TBA

Brazil vs USA @ 4:00pm EST

Final Score: TBA

Puerto Rico vs. Columbia @ 6:15pm EST

Final Score: TBA

Team USA Wheelchair Basketball


Photo courtesy of www.facebook.com

Coaching Staff: 
– Mary Vacala, Coach
– John Sikora, Assistant Coaches
– Robert Taylor, Assistant Coaches
– Melvin Juette, Assistant Coaches

Jacob Williams, Ian Lynch, Matthew Scott, Carter Arey, John Gilbert, Michael Paye, Jared Arambula, Jorge Sanchez, Christopher Kommer, Ryan Neiswender, Steven Serio, Brian Bell


Coaching Staff:  
– Maria José dos Santos, Coach
– Antonio Carlos Ferraz de Magalhaes, Assistant Coaches

Rodrigo Arão Carvalho, Alexandre Ferreira Padilha, Paulo Cesar Dos Santos, Amaury Alves Viana, Everaldo caitano De Lima, Glebe Cândido Alves Da Silva. Marcos Cândido Sanches Da Silva, Pablo Felipe Da Silva. Erick Epamenondas Da Silva, Leandro De Miranda, Irio Francisco Nunes, Luciano Felipe Da Silva.

Thank you for taking the time to read this post. The Miami Heat Wheels blog aims to educate, motivate and inspire all audiences to work hard and rise above the challenges they face in their lives. If you enjoyed this article, you can find more on the Miami Heat Wheels Blog.  Support our efforts by getting involved with the Miami Heat Wheels.

Follow us on Twitter: @MiamiHeatWheels

Follow us on Instagram: @MiamiHeatWheels

Like us on Facebook: Facebook.com/HeatWheels

Subscribe to our Youtube Channel

Make a tax-deductible donation today!


Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on StumbleUpon0Share on Tumblr0Share on Google+0



This post was written by
Comments are closed.